How-To: A Natural Face

Hey my lovely, fresh-faced beauties!

In the makeup world, a natural, or “nude” face means fully-dressed. It shouldn’t be hiding your features, it should be enhancing them…which is why everyone can wear this look!

Simply put, you’re just playing up what you like about your face. Do you have large, expressive eyes? Perfect cheekbones? Glowing skin? Full lips? Pick ONE feature, because that feature should be the focal point.

Here’s what you’ll need to get that “natural” beauty:

IMG_2846

  • Foundation or coverage of your choice (BB Cream, mineral powder, ect.) 
  • Concealer
  • Pressed powder to set
  • A favorite blush/bronzer
  • Highlighter
  • Eye base or primer
  • Natural eyeshadow
  • Mascara
  • Brow powder and gel
  • Lipstick
  • Lipgloss

(P.S: You don’t have to use all of the products I mentioned..you can pick and choose what to add or take away!)

Anyway, let’s start!

The first step is simple, yet difficult, so prepare yourself! You need to create a perfect, smooth, flawless complexion.

I exfoliated my skin and put on some moisturizer first, so my skin would be prepped and primed. When you’re applying your coverage, be extremely careful! In one flash of a powder puff you can go totally cake-faced. (If you turned cake-faced, check out this past post for salvation.)

The next part is ten times easier! Blush and highlighter! I love a good blush…the right shade can make such a difference in how someone looks. I chose one with subtle gold veining, so it can really make my cheeks pop! The secret in a nicely flushed complexion is LESS is MORE, so be sure to tap off any excess of your blush brush! I usually add a light dusting of highlighter on the tops of my cheekbones.

In this look, I decided to play up my eyes. Before I added any shadow, I put on a cream base to intensify the colors I would layer over it. I chose dreamy, subtle colors that would really make my brown eyes glow. Then, because my brows are sparse, I filled them in and set them with a clear gel. The eyes are the windows to the soul, and windows need good frames! A wise Youtuber once said, “Your brows should be like sisters, not twins.”, so you shouldn’t go to extremes to make them look identical.

The final step is my personal favorite, the lips, one of the most seductive things about a face. Before any lipstick or gloss, you should have them exfoliated and moisturized. I chose a nude lipstick color, but you could pick any soft, natural color  you like. I like to add gloss on top too, it makes your lips look softer, younger, and plumper.

And you are dooooone, hun! ;}

PRODUCTS I USED:

  • Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm SPF 45
  • Mineral Fusion Concealer Duo in “Neutral”
  • Clinique Stay-Matte Pressed Powder in “Stay Buff”
  • Milani Blush in “Dolce Pink”
  • Wet ‘N Wild Color Icon Bronzer in “Reserve Your Cabana”
  • Maybelline Color Tattoo in “Barely Branded”
  • Smashbox Eyelights Palette in “Flash”
  • Real Colors Whip Lash Ultimate Mascara in “Extreme Black”
  • Zuzu Luxe Lipstick in “Ultra Suede”
  • NYC Liquid Lipshine in “Nude York City”

You should look and feel really fresh and confident, like you’re not wearing much of anything, but  still put-together and polished.

I hope you guys enjoyed this how-to. After all, it’s basically my everyday look in a nutshell!

IMG_2876

IMG_2867

Cheers!

x

One thought on “How-To: A Natural Face

Thoughts?